Car insurance in North Carolina is easy to find. It is somewhat more difficult finding the cheap car insurance in NC because most people don't know where to find them. It is so difficult finding the lowest and best rate car insurance companies in North Carolina that most motorists give up on their search and stick with a policy that they are not entirely happy with. We will try to guide you on how to find.
North Carolina Car Insurance Laws
To start with it is helpful to know what car insurance for North Carolina is necessary for a motorist to drive legally on the streets. State legislation specifies that all motorists have a 30/60/25 policy and extra coverage above this is optional. Car insurance for North Carolina drivers costs around $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person and $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident.
If a policyholder wants their car insurance to cover the vehicle no matter what caused damage to it, they need to buy comprehensive and collision coverage. In this case the policyholder's vehicle will be covered even if the damage was caused by an animal, weather or by another vehicle no matter what the circumstances are or whose fault the accident was. The only way to know if a driver is receiving the lowest priced car insurance in North Carolina is to compare what other retailers are charging drivers for it. Policyholders need to research and compare prices of the same policy from many car insurance companies in North Carolina.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for North Carolina drivers is:
- Injury $30,000 liability for a person in a car accident
- $60,000 for all injuries in a car accident
- $25,000 for property damage in a car accident
- $30,000/$60,000 limit for an uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $25,000 limit for uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage
Car insurance rates in North Carolina ranges from $30,000/$60,000 Limit for Bodily Injury Liability. $25,000 Limit for Property Damage Liability. $30,000/$60,000 Limit for Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury. $25,000 Limit for Uninsured Motorist Property Damage. The state of North Carolina follows a Tort system which means that a person has to be found responsible for causing an accident and that individual as well as their insurance firm is at liberty to pay for all damages. Tort systems differ from state to state and might not always have the same rules. North Carolina specifies that a minimum Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage of $30,000 per individual up to a total of $60,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured and/or underinsured driver.
They can cost a fortune and are always a major financial investment however delightful they may be. They take major maintenance regularly just to avoid any seriously pricey issues. They need new wheels, wheel rotations and oil changes every so many miles. Require you to be keeping an eye on spark plugs and all the little parts that must be working and in place in order for your car to run properly. And those are just the normal things you can expect.
It should also be said before we go any further that auto insurance is not really option. You are choosing to drive you need to be aware of the North Carolina car insurance laws. There are insurance requirements for all drivers. You are caught without the required insurance you could be fined heavily and lose your license. If you rely on your car, life will get complicated and messy fast.
North Carolina Car Insurance Rates
North Carolina car insurance rates average minimum prices are :
|North Carolina Minimum Car Insurance Coverage||$311 - $542|
|North Carolina Minimum Full Coverage Car Insurance||$814 - $1,088|
|North Carolina Minimum Car Insurance Coverage for Young Drivers||$1,031 - $1,239|
|North Carolina Minimum Full Coverage Car Insurance for Young Drivers||$1,534 - $1,793|
|Average monthly car insurance in North Carolina||$25 - $149|
Factors Affecting Car Insurance in North Carolina
The complete procedure is composed of a set of ordered steps that need completion. To start with, there are numerous factors that the insurance agencies look into all of which are specific to the applicant and help to decide the risk. An individual categorized in the high risk category would have to pay much higher than someone who is not. Some factors which decide the premium amounts are:
- Age: Age of the applicant is probably one of the biggest deciding factors. An adult is considered to be more mature a driver with lesser chances of being involved in accident. He would be charged less. Teenagers are seen as high risk drivers due to lack of experience, and they have to pay high amounts in costs. Senior citizens get to enjoy the least figures.
- Driving Record: Every driver has a driving record and is an indicator of his driving. The record of someone who is involved in many accidents would be bad and make him liable to pay higher amounts. Individual with a clean record are entitled to discounts and can enjoy the luxury of cheaper premium costs.
If statistics are to be believed, North Carolina Fares very badly when it comes to road safety. Every year, numerous people die due to road mishaps which have been a cause of worry about the authorities. Arguably, there are many unsafe drivers on the state roads and there isn't much that can be done on that front except to secure yourself and buy a decent car insurance policy to cover the financial needs in case an accident happens. Remember, accidents involve two parties which means even the best of drivers can end up being a part of one with no fault of their own.
Since a car insurance policy has to be bought, there are many who would prefer not to buy it if it wasn't compulsory. Keep the interests of everyone alive, the government of North Carolina has passed certain terms and conditions that have to be met by everyone. Car owners do meet them are they allowed to legally drive on the streets. As such, people try to minimize the total amount paid in premiums by qualifying for discounts and special offers. Someone with a bad driving record would find himself in the wrong end. Let's look into how a bad record can affect the premium value.
It is vital to understand that driving record is one of the major factors used by car insurance agencies when calculating quotes. As per the state laws of North Carolina, drivers are awarded points whenever they are found to be indulging in acts of recklessness. Higher the point tally, higher would be the premium amount. Some examples of how and why the points are allotted are:
- 1 point will be added to the car owner's record in case he is caught driving at speeds higher than prescribed, found to be at fault in an accident involving damages equivalent to $1,800 or less. This is also applicable in case of any other infraction in the minor category. Either way, the amount of premium is liable to increase by 25%.
- 2 points are added if the driver is found to be involved in rash driving practices like driving at speeds higher than the prescribed limit, illegal passing etc. Addition of these two would mean an increase by up to 45% in the insurance costs.
- 4 points are added when caught driving under the influence of alcohol, excessive speeding, hit and run accidents, underage driving etc. This may result in cost increase by up to 80%.
- 8 points if driving when registration or driving license has been suspended or revoked. This means a steep escalation of 190% in the premium costs.
- Tickets: For every ticket issued, points get added to the driver's license. Higher the number of tickets issued, higher would be the costs to pay. As per the policy terms and conditions, increase based on this clause is by high proportions.
- Benefit Cover: It goes without saying that the total costs would hugely be dependent on the total benefit cover asked for by the applicant. It is for this reason that many prefer to opt for the minimum required amounts as it would mean paying the least possible amount keeping everything else static. An applicant requiring a cover of 1 million would have to pay more than someone who demands a cover of $500,000.
- Security Features: The applicant has the opportunity to demand discounts if he has ample security measures installed on the vehicle. Some examples of the same include installing theft alarm, air bags, parking the vehicle in a car parking at all times and in a garage at night. Taking all these measures instills a sense of assurance that the applicant knows his responsibilities and the chances of filing the claim are minimal.
- Premium Payment: Last but not the least is the premium payment. It is vital to make the premium payments on time and in full. If not practiced, there is possibility that the policy may be terminated. If not so, the penalties can be huge, and the policy holder may end up paying huge sums of money as fines.
Getting a good deal in North Carolina is not hard if one knows what does and what does not affect the policy. Keep the above mentioned points in mind at all times when dealing with policies to enjoy the least costs for maximum benefits available.
Tips for Getting Low Car Insurance Rates in North Carolina
Don’t make guesses when it comes to buying coverage as this could be the very thing that saves your life. Make sure you’ve got a solid policy with these tips on how to get the best deal for your car.
1. Identify What You Need – Are you looking to get full coverage for every possible accident or incident that could occur on the road? Or are you just getting automobile insurance in North Carolina to abide by state regulations? Either way, you will want to make sure that you’re paying for something you need.
Is a Basic Policy a Good Choice?
If you’re on a tight budget, a basic policy may be the only affordable option. You should know that another important North Carolina car insurance facts are that a basic policy may not cover you for certain things. In this business, problems which lead to claims are referred to as perils and basic coverage limits the amount of perils that a policyholder is covered for.
For example, you may not get collision coverage with a super-affordable and basic policy.
In some cases, not having this kind of coverage can be disastrous. After all, people do get in collisions all over the state every day! When you aren’t covered for this, you’ll need to pay to have your car repaired or replaced and you may also be in line for lawsuit.
If you don’t have liability coverage on your basic North Carolina car insurance policy, you may find that the cost of getting legal counsel and paying any damages is astronomical.
Find a Policy that is Right for You
So, there is a lot to think about here. It’s important to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of basic policies before deciding how much to spend. If you can find the money to get a higher level of coverage, it’s wise to consider doing so, as you’ll enjoy greater peace of mind. If you can’t afford anything but a basic policy, you’re certainly not alone.
A lot of people make the mistake of buying policies for their cars just for the sake of having it. Yes, it’s always a smart idea to follow your local laws, but if you’re allotting a budget for a recurring monthly premium to pay for something that won’t answer your needs in the future then you’re practically throwing money into a pointless investment. Take the opportunity to identify what you need from your automobile coverage, so you can come up with a useful coverage that will help you when you need it.
Many great companies serve the needs of drivers in North Carolina. You may find them by searching for them online. Most provide tons of relevant data about policies and how much they cost via their websites. So, look around and compare basic or advanced policies before you make a final choice. Once you’ve found a great provider, apply for auto insurance and then wait for approval. The process shouldn’t be too long-winded.
2. Designate a Budget – To make a claim, you’ll need to pay a monthly premium. The value you pay will depend on how risky your provider thinks it will be to cover your car. If you have a bad driving history, if your car is of a poor quality, or if the model is one that is commonly stolen or vandalized, they might charge you a higher premium.
Many people don’t want to pay steep fees on a monthly basis which is why they opt for lower premiums. Your provider will allow this as long as you agree to pay a higher deductible. Because your North Carolina auto insurance won’t pay for damages completely, there will be a certain percentage that you will have to cover. If you incurred damages worth $5,000 USD and your insurance company pays for only 90% of the fees, you will have to pay for the remaining 10%. That 90% estimate isn’t fixed and will change depending on the premium you settle for.
The higher your premium, the less your deductible. It would be ideal for those who might not have such a large amount of money to give out at a particular point in time to make slightly bigger premium payments throughout the year. This will make it easier to budget funds across a longer period, instead of paying small on a monthly basis but ultimately making big out-of-pocket payments later on.
3. Find a Reliable Insurer – Who wants the added headache of having a provider that won’t allow you to make claim? There are too many instances of people having trouble availing of the benefits of their policies because insurers and policyholders don’t seem to meet eye to eye, regardless of what’s stated in the agreed upon policy.
This could lead to having to deal with an adjuster which can take time and sap you of patience and energy. A good way to bypass this problem is to look for the best provider in your area. A way you can do this is by asking around and getting input from friends and family that have bought coverage before. If they’re happy with the service they got and could make claims without too much of a fuss, then you should look into their recommendations.
You can also choose to read reviews online and call up a few providers to get a better feel for their nature and quality. The thing about buying insurance is that you shouldn’t sign a contract with the first provider you meet. Contact a minimum of three different companies, compare their rates, and figure out which one works best in relation to your preferences.
4. Don’t Lie – One of the biggest mistakes buyers make is lying about their situation just to save a few extra dollars. It’s important to keep in mind that what you’re trying to protect is your car, your life, and potentially, the life of others. By lying, you could be putting your provider in a position to withhold certain coverage from you because they were not duly informed of the truth. Don’t risk getting stuck in a financial problem you cannot pay for – always give it to them straight when detailing your situation.
What Discounts Are Available for Drivers?
There are a variety of driver specific discounts you can take advantage of depending on the company that you choose to do business with. Here are the most popular discounts that are currently being offered by leading car insurance companies:
- Safe Driver Discount - In most cases, anyone who qualifies for the Safe Driver Discount will receive this discount automatically. This discount is applied when a driver has 3 or more years of experience and does not have violations or accidents, the driver will automatically receive a Safe Driver Discount. In some states this discount is referred to as the Good Driver Discount, or the Accident-free Discount.
- Driver Safety Training Discount - Some companies will offer a discount to drivers who complete an accredited training course. This discount is typically applied for 3 years from the date of completion. It will lower Liability and Property Damage premiums for the vehicle assigned to that driver. This discount is also referred to as the Mature Driver, or the Defensive Driver Discount. Professional
- Group Discount - If you are a business professional or associated with a specific organization, you may qualify for an affiliation discount.
- Good Student Discounts - Inexperienced operators tend to pay much higher car insurance rates than experienced drivers with 9 or more years of experience. If you have a teenage driver on your policy, you may be able to keep your premiums for the teen lower if they qualify for the Good Student Discount. Typically, full-time students under the age of 25 qualify when they earn a 3.0 GPA.
There are also vehicle discounts to take advantage of. While most modern cars receive safety discounts, here are some other discounts that are assigned to vehicles:
- Annual Mileage Discount - The average driver drives 15,000 miles per year. If you drive much less than this, you may be able to receive a low mileage discount based on the mileage bracket you fall into.
- Anti-theft Discount - If you have a passive or active alarm, you can receive a discount off of your physical damage cover with the anti-theft discount. Active alarms disable the engine when they sound, and passive alarms only alert. Be sure to notify the agent of the alarm system so that you receive the appropriate credit.
There are also policy discounts you may be able to qualify for. Here are some of the most popular policy discounts:
- Multi-Car Discount - If you insure two or more cars with the same company, you will qualify for a multi-car discount on each car.
- Multi-Policy Discount - Also referred to as the multi-line discount, this credit is available when you carry more than one line of insurance with the same carrier. If the carrier offers property insurance, life insurance, or health insurance, you can save between 5 and 30% off of your car insurance premiums by combining your insurance.
When you fill out a quoting form, make sure you take the time to provide accurate information so that the quote includes all the discounts you qualify for. Keep your premiums low without lowering your coverage, and exercise your right to receive car insurance discounts.