Getting a car insurance will prove to be in the best interest of the car owner. However, if the motorist does not wish to spend too much money on getting his car insured, it is best to look for cheap car insurance in Tennessee. It is not difficult to obtain cheap car insurance policy. There are different kinds of insurance policies with varying degree of coverage. Before you buy a car insurance policy, one should be aware of their coverage requirements. There is liability coverage for property damage and minimum coverage for bodily harm. You may choose the policy with the coverage you want.
Tennessee Car Insurance Laws
Like every state, Tennessee in the US also requires car owner, or a car operator to have a minimum insurance coverage to safeguard against the risks and damages incurred when there is a car accident or car gets damaged due to some other factors. Motorists in Tennessee are required to get minimum liability coverage policy to help the insured driver pay for the property damages and the medical costs that are borne by the injured party in the event when the car driver is found to be responsible for causing an accident. Driving without getting car insurance may have serious implications for the driver. Therefore, it is mandatory to get an car insurance policy to guard against unanticipated financial losses as is associated with car damages and car accidents.
One has to understand the car insurance laws and coverage extended by the insurance companies in Tennessee. Otherwise, it may become difficult to choose the right car insurance policy for yourself. It is best to get an understanding of the requirements of getting a car insurance policy in Tennessee. Each state has different car insurance requirements. Mandatory liability coverage may vary from state to state. Not all the states have the same coverage laws. Therefore, it is crucial for a car driver to be fully aware of the car insurance requirements if they are seeking to buy car insurance policy in Tennessee.
Car Insurance Requirements in Tennessee
Currently, the minimum requirements for the resident car owners of Tennessee stand at 25/50/15 coverage. The minimum requirements for physical injury protection and for property damages have been laid out. According to the state law for Tennessee, minimum liability coverage of $25,000 is set for Bodily Injury Liability for every person. This implies that the insurance agent of the responsible person, who is at fault for the accident, will have to cover a maximum of $25,000 for each person and a maximum of $50,000 for all the persons in the accident. Bodily Injury Liability coverage is also designed to cover for the medical bills of the opposing party in an accident.
As per the state laws of Tennessee, the minimum state requirement to cover for the property damage stands at $15,000. Therefore, if a person causes damage to the car of someone or causes damages to public property such as guardrails, road signs, the insurance company of the person responsible for the damages has to pay a total of $15,000 for a single incident.
- Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage $15,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist coverage; You have the right to refuse in writing even if the car insurance law of the state has been specified.
In addition to the minimum liability insurance coverage, it is recommended that licensed drivers in Tennessee should get comprehensive and collision insurance. This is to ensure that you and your car are protected from the event of an accident. The comprehensive cover would pay for the car damage caused by bad weather, theft, and falling objects. (Liability vs Full Coverage Car Insurance)
Sr22 Car Insurance in Tennessee
In the state of Tennessee if your driver’s license has been suspended for any reasons you will be required to have an SR22 filing with the state to reinstate your Tennessee driver’s license.
Some cases that cause your license to be suspended:
- DUI (Driving under the influence)
- Failure to show proof of a valid car registration
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Falsifying insurance documents
- Driving without insurance
- Reckless driving
- Too many tickets within a certain period
How long will I have to carry my Tennessee SR22 Insurance?
No matter what the reason for your needing to file an SR22 with the state of Tennessee, whether it was for a DUI or too many tickets you will have to maintain your SR22 filing with the Tennessee DMV for a period of 5-years. If at any time during this 5-year period there is a lapse in your Tennessee SR22 insurance for any reason, even if it is for 1-day your driver’s license will be suspended by the DMV, and you will have to have your insurance provider file another SR22 form with the DMV before they will reinstate your license.
Tennessee Car Insurance Rates
Average car insurance rates in Tennessee
|Tennessee Minimum Car Insurance Coverage||$474 - $718|
|Tennessee Minimum Full Coverage Car Insurance||$1,144 - $1,389|
|Tennessee Minimum Car Insurance Coverage for Young Drivers||$1,194 - $1,457|
|Tennessee Minimum Full Coverage Car Insurance for Young Drivers||$1,864 - $2,103|
|Average car insurance in Tennessee per month||$39 - $175|
Car Insurance Companies in Tennessee
Searching for a Tennessee car insurance company keep in mind that in this state you are required by law to find an insurer that is approved by the Tennessee Insurance Department. You cannot be legally covered by an out-of-state insurance carrier. There are dozens of insurance companies who offer policies directly to Tennessee drivers. State Farm, GEICO, Allstate, Amica, Farmers, Nationwide, and Progressive are just a few of the more recognizable names, but by no means the only options. Several smaller companies also offer their own insurance brands. And each company has their own specialty and specific demographic target. Before you decide on one company you should research several of them, finding out a little background information about each.
Car Insurance Quotes in Tennessee
Average car insurance quotes for Tennessee car insurance companies
|Rank||Car Insurance Company Name||Price|
Factors That Affect Your Tennessee Car Insurance Premium
Premium rates of car insurance in Tennessee can be lowered if the person lowers the risks of being involved in a car accident. One should keep in mind that the premium rates would be high for the car insurance policy in case the risk that one is subjected to is high. There are different factors that affect the premium rates of car insurance policy. Some of the important factors that significantly affect the Tennessee car insurance premium:
Age - One of the most significant factors affecting the premium of your car insurance policy is the age. Young motorists between the age of 18 and 25 are charged higher premiums for their car insurance policy as they are at a higher risk of being involved in accident. Senior citizens between 50-65 years of age are exposed to lesser risk than the youth and so premium rates for their Tennessee car insurance can be lowered. Huge discounts are also extended by the insurance agents to drivers aged between 25 and 55 years as they are considered to be the safest drivers. Insurance agents are unwilling to extend discounts to those in their mid-50s.
Location - Place where the applicant of car insurance policy resides is also assessed by the insurance agent before he decides to lower the premium rates on the car insurance policy. A person residing in a less-traffic zone or no-traffic area will not have to shell out too much money for paying the premium on his car insurance policy as they are exposed to the lesser risk of getting involved in accident. A person residing in crowded areas are subjected to higher risks of meeting with an accident and they would have to pay higher premiums. People residing in neighborhoods that have a higher record of car thefts are likely to pay more premium than those living in neighborhoods where fewer incidences of car theft or damage are reported.
A good driving record - The car insurance quote in the state of Tennessee depends to a large extent on your driving record. People involved in traffic violations and DUI cases find it difficult to get competitive quotes. Those labeled as "high-risk drivers" are also do not qualify for a good quote. This means that they pay a higher monthly premium than those who have a good driving record. The driver who has a poor credit rating in the state is also labeled as 'high-risk drivers'. They are either denied insurance or get a high quote. People who qualify for low car insurance quote in Tennessee are the ones who have many driving experiences experience, a sound driving record, and those who take regular driving lessons and are enrolled in safety driving classes.
The car model and maturity - Your car insurance quotes in Tennessee depend a lot on your car model. If you have an expensive model like an SUV, a sports car or any other luxury car, you are expected to pay a much higher premium, because chances of theft are much higher in luxury models. But, you can expect a much lower quote on a low budget car or the basic models. If you buy a new car in the state of Tennessee, you can expect a discount on your quote. But as your car gets older, you need more repair and maintenance. As a result, you are expected to pay a higher premium on old cars.
Other factors such as credit rating, occupation and years of driving experience of the applicant also determine the Tennessee car insurance premium.
Find The Best Affordable Car Insurance in TN
Following are some of the useful tips that one can follow to get the best, and the cheapest Tennessee car insurance quotes:
Go beyond the price - When searching for the best Tennessee car insurance quote, do not solely focus on the price of the policy. Do remember that cheap always does not prove to be the best option. You can find a number of insurance agents in Tennessee who will provide you with the cheapest insurance quote. But before you decide to buy the cheapest insurance policy, do also check the coverage. Sometimes, getting the minimum coverage policy may not be a good idea as the expenses that you may have to incur due to a car accident may not be fully covered by your car insurance policy with minimum coverage. If that happens, the cheap policy will turn out to be expensive. It is better to assess your requirements and determine what kind of coverage you exactly need.
Compare the car insurance quotes - Shop around and compare the car insurance quote before you decide on getting a car insurance policy offered by an insurance company. The insurance market is teeming with insurance companies of varied size, small and big, that provide an extensive array of car insurance rates. Comparing the rates will help you find the most affordable policy. Check out the quotes to determine which policy is best suited to meet your requirements. Cautious comparison shopping to check out online car insurance quote will be extremely helpful.
Increase you're deductible - The higher your deductible is, the less you will be necessary to pay when it comes to car insurance. This is the amount that you will have to pay before your insurer pays for any damages that you file.
Studies show that increasing your deductible from $500 to only $1,000 can save you as much as 15% on your insurance bill. This can add up over time, and the more cars you have on your policy the greater savings you’ll enjoy.
Get an older car - Buying a car that you can pay cash for will allow you to get a lower priced policy. For instance, a general liability policy is much less expensive than a comprehensive one. If you own a new car and have a lien on it, you will be legally required in most states to get a comprehensive policy.
Enroll in a defensive driving course - If you have a teenager on your policy, this can cause your costs to drastically increase. One way to help reduce these costs is by enrolling your teenager in a defensive driving course. These are typically offered at various locations, and you can check the Division of Motor Vehicles for a class near you.
Avoid accidents - Keeping a safe driving record will allow you to stay in good standing with your insurance company. Avoiding accidents and speeding tickets can drastically reduce your insurance rates in the short and long-term.
Annual Plans - The yearly policy usually provides you savings than with a six-month policy. The annual policy has a fixed fee and cannot be changed unlike with the bi-year policy which changes fee depending on the insurance company.
Anti-Theft Devices - Modern automobiles are now outfitted with theft gadgets and similar security equipment. Whether they operate at a contact of a mouse button or are computerized, you’ll get discounts on your insurance if your automobile is provided with these things. Also, if it provides a window sketching, this can be one more reason to get a discount for.
Mileage Check - Insurance brokers ask essential questions about mileage that buyers work on one way, have a look at mileage carefully before trying to find the insurance policy. Depending on your reply, it’s going to designate your insurance application to a particular class. Discuss along with your insurance agent to know of the different classes as everyone can go along with significant differences of their prices.
Carpool - The fewer miles that you drive on a daily basis, the less your car insurance will cost. Although it may not be possible to find a job that is closer to you, you can check around in your neighborhood with others about carpooling. This will allow you to drive fewer miles on a regular basis.
Car Insurance Discounts In TN
Some of the discounts that driver in Tennessee can avail to bring down their car insurance rates:
Tennessee Defensive Driving Course Discount - This car insurance policy can be issued to a person who is a senior citizen and at least 55 years of age. To qualify for this discount, one has to undertake a certified defensive driving course. A motorist who has successfully completed a Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention course as approved by Commissioner of Safety is eligible for availing this discount.
Good Driving Discount - A resident of Tennessee is eligible to avail this discount only in the case when all the drivers in the household have never violated the driving laws and have never been found to be at fault to have caused any accidents during the past 3 years. To receive this discount, an applicant must remember that all the documents submitted for insurance will be verified and the driving history of the applicant will be checked.
Multiple Policy Discounts - A person is eligible to receive discounts on car insurance policy if the same person is the named insured on other policies such as health policy or life insurance policy offered by the same insurance firm.
Good Student Discount - This kind of discount can be given only to drivers, who are full-time students, studying in high-school or university. Just being a student is not enough to receive this discount as they would have to fulfill certain requirements. A student who secures a good rank and stays in the top 20 student brackets of his or her class and has a grade average of B or more can easily get this discount. Students who have a higher grade point average of 3 or more and have been once in the Dean's good student list or Honor Roll are eligible for availing this discount.
Multiple Automobile Discount - You may be eligible to avail this discount only if you insure more than one private passenger cars as driven by your household members residing at your home. The owners of all the cars must be residents of the household or should be related to each other.
Installation of Safety Devices - The other vital factor that affects the car insurance quotes in the state of Tennessee like most other US states is whether your car features safety features. Security-proof cars featuring seatbelts, front and rear guards, airbags, anti-break locks, and other theft monitoring devices are qualified to get a much lower quote. You have to mention this point when you are filling up the online form to get the cheapest car quotes.
Low Mileage Discount - In Tennessee, car insurance companies offer a discount in the quote if you do not drive frequently. This means that you get a substantial discount on low mileage. According to insurance data in the state, more mileage means higher chances of accidents, as drivers have to often encounter rough roads, traffic conditions, and bad weather. Also if you stay in a region in Tennessee that has higher risks of accidents, theft or poor road conditions, it affects your car insurance rates.
Group Price Discount - You’ll be able to get a reduction if you’re affiliated with particular teams or organizations. You can ask the insurance company the record of companies they offer discounts for. They can be college sororities, credit unions, or just having a card.